Faculty Spotlight

James L. Windsor

James Wwindsor

The Virginia Law Foundation and Virginia CLE® join Kaufman & Canoles, P.C. in congratulating James L. Windsor for receiving the 2024 Traver Award.

Mr. Windsor is an attorney at Kaufman & Canoles, P.C., where he has worked since 1987. He has been a dedicated faculty member of Real Estate related seminars of Virginia CLE® for many years, as well as a co-author for several Virginia CLE®  publications. He serves as the chairman of the Real Estate Claims & Title Insurance Solutions Group and the co-chair of Government & Municipal Law Group at the firm. He has more than 38 years of experience in real estate, real property, title insurance, and civil litigation.

Mr. Windsor graduated cum laude from James Madison University with a B.S. in 1982 and received his J.D. in 1985 from the University of Richmond School of Law. He has previously received the Distinguished Service Award from the Virginia Land Title Association in 2015. He is an AV Preeminent® rated lawyer by Martindale-Hubbell and a dedicated, zealous, and strong advocate for his clients.

Mr. Windsor is noted to have tirelessly given his time in teaching seminars and authoring articles and resource materials to benefit his fellow real estate professionals. Most notably Mr. Windsor has presented over 120 seminars on real estate related topics since 1996.

About the Traver Award

Each year, the Traver Award is presented jointly by the Virginia State Bar Real Property Section and Virginia CLE®  to lawyers who exemplify the highest standards and expertise in real property law practice. The award also recognizes exceptional contributions to the advancement of continuing legal education.

The award is named for Courtland Lee Traver, Jr. (1935-2014), whose outstanding legal ability, selfless contributions to the practice of real property law throughout the Commonwealth, furtherance of legal education, mentorship, and willingness to share his knowledge and experience will perpetually serve as an inspiration to Real Property Section members.

Posted on March 28, 2024