Seminar Out-of-State Credit Information

Seminars

Please note:

A number of states have restrictions on Law Office Management seminars. Some examples of these seminars are New Time Management; Working Smarter, Not Harder in Your Law Practice; and Microsoft Word for the Law Office, all of which may not be accredited in some states.

Generally speaking, when attorneys apply for out-of-state credit themselves, they will need to submit a brochure, a biography of the speaker(s) (if not included in the brochure), and for some states, the written materials.The Uniform Application for Accreditation is available at https://www.clereg.org/forms/uniformapp.pdf.

Further questions about out-of-state credit should be directed to Tanya Morris at tmorris@vacle.org, or (800) 979-8253, ext. 120.

State Requirements
Alabama
12 hours per calendar year. Reporting date: December 31. Programs cannot be approved more than 60 days past the end of the year in which they were taken. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $50 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Alabama accepts only programs where an instructor is available for questions. Live and phone seminars should qualify, but the majority of Virginia CLE's video seminars will not. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Kim Oliver Ward, Director of CLE, Alabama State Bar, 415 Dexter Ave, Montgomery, AL 36104 Phone: 334/269-1515 E-mail: kimo@alabar.org Website: http://www.alabar.org
back to top
Alaska
12 hours per year including 1 hour of ethics. Reporting date: February 1 is the deadline. Credit is given for live, video, and phone programs. Virginia CLE qualifies as an approved provider (Virginia CLE programs are "pre-approved"). MCLE Administrator: Ms. Barbara Armstrong, Assistant Director/CLE Director, Alaska Bar Association, PO Box 100279, Anchorage, AK 99510 Phone: 907/263-1841 Fax: 907/272-2932 E-mail: cle@alaskabar.org Website: http://www.alaskabar.org
back to top
Arizona
15 hours per year including 3 hours ethics. Reporting date: September 15. Arizona does not approve or accredit MCLE programs; attorneys are expected to determine whether or not a course qualifies for credit according to the MCLE Rule. Live programs will qualify for regular credit; video and phone seminars will qualify for self-study credit. No more than 5 hours of self-study may be earned in any reporting period. A certificate of attendance is required and can be obtained from the Virginia CLE office.MCLE Administrator: Ms. Marnie Leinberger, MCLE/BLS Administrator, State Bar of Arizona, 111 W. Monroe Street, Ste. 1800, Phoenix, AZ 85003 Phone: 602/340-7327 Fax: 602/416-7527 E-mail: marnie.leinberger@staff.azbar.org Website: http://www.azbar.org
back to top
Arkansas
12 hours per year including 1 hour ethics. Reporting date: June 30.Arkansas requires an instructor or qualified moderator to be present on site and available for questions, so live seminars should be accepted, but video and telephone programs will not.MCLE Administrator: Mr. R. Christopher Thomas, Secretary Arkansas CLE Board, Supreme Court of Arkansas, 120 Justice Building, 625 Marshall, Little Rock, AR 72201 Phone: 501/374-1855 Fax: 501/374-1853 Website: http://courts.state.ar.us/rules/index.html#clerules
back to top
California
25 hours per 3-year period including 4 hours legal ethics, 1 hour detection / prevention of substance abuse, and elimination of bias. Reporting date: February 1.California considers Virginia an approved jurisdiction for CLE; all Virginia CLE courses can be claimed for credit by California attorneys. Live, video, and phone seminars qualify for accreditation (though video and phone may only qualify as self-study). No more than 12.5 hours can be earned through self-study.California's approved jurisdiction policy only applies if an attorney is physically outside of California when attending the education activity. If the member was outside California when the activity occurred, s/he could count the activity for California credit. If the attorney is inside California, the course must be approved for credit by California.MCLE Administrator: Ms. Dina DiLoreto, Senior Administrative Supervisor, Office of Certification, The State Bar of California, 180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 Phone: 415/538-2121 Fax: 415/538-2180 E-Mail: dina.diloreto@calbar.ca.gov Website: http://www.calbar.ca.gov/state/calbar/calbar_home.jsp
back to top
Colorado
45 hours per three year period including 7 hours ethics. Reporting date: December 31 of 3rd year. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $10 fee is required if filed more than 15 days prior to the seminar; an extra $25 is required if filed less than 15 days prior); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Colorado will accept live, video, and phone seminars. A four hour course on professionalism, presented by the Colorado Bar Association, is required for new attorneys during their first reporting period. MCLE Administrator: Mr. Alan Ogden, Executive Director, Colorado Supreme Court Bd. Of Continuing Legal and Judicial Education, or Ms. Karen Bradley, Assistant Executive Director, 600 17 Street, 520S, Denver, CO 80202 Phone: 303/893-8094 Fax: 303/893-0541 Website: http://www.coloradosupremecourt.us
back to top
Delaware
24 hours per two year period including 4 hours Enhanced Ethics. Reporting date: December 31 every 2nd year. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $25 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Live seminars qualify for credit; phone and video seminars may qualify as self-study credit (approval for self-study courses is currently tentative). Delaware does not give credit for audiotapes, so some phone seminars may not receive credit. Phone and video seminars must be pre-approved. Only sponsors can file for self-study credit for a course. Self-study credit is limited to half of the required hours. Attorneys who have been admitted forty or more years must fulfill only half the CLE requirement. For new attorneys, there is a Fundamentals requirement of three fundamental courses, one of which must be on lawyer-client relations. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Kristen A. Hamilton, Executive Director, Commission on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of Delaware, Carvel State Office Building, 11th Floor, 820 N. French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 Phone: 302/577-7040 Fax: 302/577-7037 Website: http://courts.state.de.us/cle/
back to top
Florida
30 hours per 3-year period including 5 hours ethics, professionalism, substance abuse and/or mental illness awarness. Reporting date: assigned month every 3 years. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $150 is required for accreditation after the course, $125 if at least 10 days prior); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Live, phone, and video seminars are accepted, though video and phone seminars are approved no more than 18 months after the original taping date. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Michelle Francis, BSCR Specialist, Legal Specialization and Education, The Florida Bar, 650 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32399-2300 Phone: 850/561-5842 Fax: 850/561-5660 Website: http://www.flabar.org/newflabar/memberservices/CLE
back to top
Georgia
12 hours per year including 1 hour ethics and 1 hour professionalism. Reporting date: January 31.Only live programs are approved. Trial attorneys must attend an additional 3 hours of CLE in trial practice. New attorneys must attend ICLE's Bridge the Gap program and 6 additional hours of CLE. MCLE Administrator: Mr. Cliff Brashier, Executive Director, State Bar of Georgia, or Ms. DeeDee Worley, CLE Assistant Director, 104 Marietta Street, Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303 Phone: 404/527-8710 Fax: 404/527-8711 Website: http://www.gabar.org/
back to top
Idaho
30 hours per 3-year period including 2 hours legal ethics. Reporting date: February 1 (credits must be taken by January 1) every 3rd year depending on date of admission.Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $35 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Video and audio (phone) seminars can be used for up to 15 credits per reporting period. All credit applications must be filed within 14 days after the seminar. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Annette Strauser, Membership Administrator, Idaho State Bar, PO Box 895, Boise, ID 83701-0895 Phone: 208/334-4500 Fax: 208/334-2764 E-mail: astrause@isb.state.id.us Website: http://www2.state.id.us/isb
back to top
Indiana
36 hours per 3-year period with 6 hour minimum per year including 3 hours ethics every three years. Reporting date: December 31 every third year (sponsor must report within 30 days after program). Only live programs are approved. No more than 12 hours may be in non-legal subject matter courses. It is best to apply for accreditation at least 30 days before the course. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Julia L. Orzeske, Executive Director, Indiana Commission for CLE, 115 W. Washington Street, South Tower 1065, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3417 Phone: 317/232-1943 Fax: 317/233-1442 Website: http://www.state.in.us/judiciary/cle
back to top
Iowa
15 hours per calendar year including 2 hours ethics every 2 years. Reporting date: March 1.Only live programs can be accredited in Iowa. MCLE Administrator: Mr. Paul H. Wieck, II, Executive Director, Commission on Continuing Legal Education, Judicial Branch Building, 1111 E. Court Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50319 Phone: 515/725-8029 Fax: 515/725-8032 Website: http://www.iowacourts.gov/Professional_Regulation/Attorney_RegulationCommissions/CLE/
back to top
Kansas
12 hours per year including 2 hours ethics. Reporting date: June 30. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $25 is required); however, attorneys may try to apply for credit on their own. Only live programs are approved. New attorneys are required to take a 12 hour New Lawyer Practical Skills Program, which includes 2 hours of ethics, between their admission to the Bar and their first annual registration period. This will fulfill their CLE requirement for the same period of time. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Shelley Sutton, Executive Director, CLE Commission, 400 S. Kansas Ave, Suite 202, Topeka, KS 66603 Phone: 785/357-6510 Website: http://www.kscle.org
back to top
Kentucky
12.5 hours per year including one hour of ethics and one hour of professionalism. Reporting date: Deadline is June 30, reporting due by August 10. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (for courses more than two hours duration, an extra $25 is required; $50 if submitted less than thirty days prior to the course; for courses two hours or less in duration, an extra $10 is required; $20 if submitted less than thirty days prior to the course); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Kentucky requires an attorney facilitator available for questions at all seminars, so live and phone seminars will qualify for credit, but most videos will not. Only 6 hours of the annual requirement can be earned at phone or video seminars. New attorneys are required to take a New Lawyer Skills Program, which includes 12.5 hours of CLE, 2 of which are ethics. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Janis E. Clark, Director for CLE, or Mr. J. Lewis Payne, Assistant Director for CLE, Kentucky Bar Association, 514 W. Main Street, Frankfort, KY 40601-1883 Phone: 502/564-3795 Fax: 502/564-3225 E-mail: jclark@kybar.org and lpayne@kybar.org Website: http://www.kybar.org
back to top
Louisiana
15 hours per year including 1 hour ethics and 1 hour of professional responsibility. Reporting date: Deadline is December 31, reporting due by January 31. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $50 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Live seminars qualify for credit, but Louisiana requires an instructor on site and available for questions, so phone and video seminars may not. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Kitty Hymel, MCLE Administrator, Louisiana State Bar Association, 601 St. Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 Phone: 504/619-0140 Fax: 504/528-9312 E-mail: mcle@lsba.org Website: http://www.lsba.org/2007MemberServices/continuinglegaleducation.asp
back to top
Maine
11 hours per year including one hour professional responsibility. Reporting date: July 31. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $25 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Applications must be filed at least 30 days before the seminar. Live seminars qualify for credit; phone and video count as self-study. Self-study credits are limited to 5.5 per credit year. MCLE Administrator: Mr. Dan E. Crutchfield, Administrative Director, Board of Overseers of the Bar, PO Box 527, Augusta, ME 04332 Phone: 207/623-1121 Fax: 207/623-4175 Website: http://www.mecle.com
back to top
Minnesota
45 hours per 3-year period including 3 hours ethics and 2 hours elimination of bias. Reporting date: June 30 of the last year of the reporting period. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $35 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. An instructor or moderator is required for phone or video seminars. No more than 6 CLE hours can be in law office management. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Cleone Brazil, Administrator, Minnesota State Board of CLE, Galtier Plaza, Suite 201, 380 Jackson Street, St Paul, MN 55101 Phone: 651/296-4541 Fax: 651/296-5866 Website: http://www.mbcle.state.mn.us/mbcle/pages/home.asp
back to top
Mississippi
12 hours per year including 1 hour ethics/professional responsibility. Reporting date: July 31. Live seminars qualify for regular MCLE credit. Mississippi allows no more than 6 hours of credit for electronically transmitted or reproduced seminars; of those 6 hours, no more than 3 can be earned with phone seminars. Any non-live seminars must have an on-site moderator to answer questions and encourage discussion. Live phone seminars qualify as electronically transmitted seminars; replays do not qualify for credit. Virginia CLE video replays would not qualify for credit. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Tracy W. Graves, CLE Administrator, Mississippi Commission on CLE, PO Box 369, Jackson, MS 39205-0369 Phone: 601/354-6056 Fax: 601/354-6058 Website: http://www.mssc.state.ms.us/cle_bccr/cle_bccr.html
back to top
Missouri
15 hours per year including 3 hours ethics every 3 years. Reporting date: July 31 (end of credit year June 30).Live seminars qualify for regular credit, at which an instructor or moderator must be present. Phone and video seminars qualify as self-study if there is not an instructor or moderator present. New attorneys must complete 3 hours of ethics within 12 months of being admitted to The Missouri Bar. No more than 6 hours of self-study are allowed each reporting period. Ethics cannot be obtained at a self-study seminar. MCLE Administrator: Mr. Christopher C. Janku, Director of Programs, PO Box 119, 326 Monroe, Jefferson City, MO 65102 Phone: 573/638-2231 Fax: 573/635-2811 Website: http://www.mobar.org/d2aba8f7-dc98-490a-8c59-413f959e2d9e.aspx
back to top
Montana
15 hours per year, including 5 hours ethics every three years. Reporting date: April 1.Live seminars qualify as Interactive credit; phone and video seminars qualify as Other credit. No more than five hours of Other credit can be earned in one year. Montana automatically accredits courses approved in other CLE jurisdictions; to obtain credit for a Virginia CLE course, request an attendance certification letter at a seminar or by contacting the Virginia CLE office at (800) 979-8253 or emailing vacle@vacle.org. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Kathy Powers, MCLE Administrator, Montana Board of CLE, PO Box 577, Helena, MT 59624 Phone: 406/442-7660 Fax: 406/442-7763 E-mail: powers@montanabar.org Website: http://www.montanabar.org
back to top
Nevada
12 hours per year including 2 hours ethics and professional conduct. Reporting date: March 1 (reporting dates vary; may be December 31). Live programs qualify for regular MCLE credit. Video and phone seminars qualify for self-study credit (alternate format credit); no more than 6 hours of self-study can be earned in one reporting period. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Toni Sarocka, Executive Director, Board of CLE, 295 Holcomb Ave, Suite A, Reno, NV 89502 Phone: 775/329-4443 Fax: 775/329-4291 Website: http://www.nvbar.org/
back to top
New Hampshire
12 hours per year including 2 hours ethics/professional responsibility. Reporting date: June 30 (filing date is August 1).Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $30 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. All credit applications must be submitted within 30 days after the end of a seminar. New Hampshire requires a faculty member or qualified commentator on site, so only live programs qualify for regular MCLE credit. Phone and video seminars should qualify as self-study credit; up to half of the annual requirement can be satisfied with self-study credit. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Lee Jones, New Hampshire Bar Association, Assistant to the NHMCLE Board, 112 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301 Phone: 603/224-6942 Fax: 603/224-2910 E-mail: ljones@nhbar.org Website: http://www.nhbar.org/NHBACLE/default.asp
back to top
New Mexico
15 hours per year including one hour of ethics and two hours of professional responsibility. Reporting date: Deadline is December 31, report due by April 30. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $50 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. New Mexico requires a moderator present for regular MCLE credit. Phone and video seminars qualify as self-study credit. No more than 5 hours of self-study can be earned in one reporting period. Self-study credit must be pre-approved. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Anita Otero, Director of Court Regulated Programs, State Bar of New Mexico, 5121 Masthead NE, PO Box 25883, Albuquerque, NM 87125 Phone: 505/797-6015 Fax: 505/797-6097 E-mail: mcle@nmmcle.org Website: https://www.nmmcle.org/rules/article_2.asp
back to top
New York
24 hours per 2-year period including 4 hours of ethics; new admittees 16 hours per 2-year period including 3 hours ethics/professionalism, 6 hours skills, 7 hours practice management or substantive areas of practice. Each year, the credits earned must match the specified amounts. New attorneys must take live courses. Reporting date: at time of biennial registration.New York requires attorneys to self-certify their credits. To receive New York credit for a course, save a copy of the Virginia MCLE Form 2 that is distributed at all programs, a copy of the program brochure, and a copy of a letter verifying Virginia CLE's status as an accredited CLE provider in Virginia (which can be picked up on site). Call (1-800-979-8253) or email the Virginia CLE office (vacle@vacle.org) to request the required credit conversion letter and the accredited CLE provider in Virginia letter. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Elise Anne Geltzer, Esq., Counsel, New York State CLE Board, 25 Beaver Street, Room 888, New York, NY 10004 Phone: 212/428-2105 or 877/NYS-4CLE Fax: 212/428-2974 E-mail: cle@courts.state.ny.us Website: http://courts.state.ny.us/mcle.htm
back to top
North Carolina
12 hours per year including 2 hours ethics/professional responsibility or professional liability; 1 hour substance abuse/debilitating mental conditions education every 3 years. Reporting date: February 28.Live, video, and phone seminars are accepted for credit. Virginia CLE is an accredited sponsor. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Kathryn Allen, Assistant Director, Board of CLE, 208 Fayetteville Street Mall, PO Box 26148, Raleigh, NC 27611 Phone: 919/733-0123 Fax: 919/821-9168 Website: http://www.nccle.org
back to top
North Dakota
45 hours per 3-year period including 3 hours of ethics. Reporting date: Deadline is June 30, reports due July 31.Courses approved by the CLE body of another state with CLE are considered presumptively approved for credit. Live seminars are approved for regular credit. Phone and video seminars are considered self-study courses. No more than 15 self-study credits can be earned over a reporting period. Contact the Virginia CLE office at (800) 979-8253 or vacle@vacle.org to get a letter certifying attendance at a seminar, and certifying Virginia CLE's accredited sponsor status in Virginia. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Christine Hogan, Secretary-Treasurer, North Dakota CLE Commission, PO Box 2136, Bismarck, ND 58502 Phone: 701/255-1404 Fax: 701/224-1621 Website: http://www.court.state.nd.us/Rules/CLE/frameset.htm
back to top
Ohio
24 hours per 2 years including 2.5 hours ethics, professionalism, and substance abuse of which 30 minutes must be on substance abuse, 60 minutes of ethics, and 60 minutes on professionalism. New attorneys have a mandatory 12 hours of new lawyer training within the first calendar year of admission. Reporting date: every 2 years by January 31.Ohio accepts live programs, and will accept video and phone seminars if an expert instructor is present for questions. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Diane Chesley-Lahm, Secretary of the Supreme Court Commission on CLE, 30 E. Broad Street, Floor 35, Columbus, OH 43215-3431 Phone: 614/644-5470 Fax: 614/728-0864 Website: http://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/AttySvcs/CLE/faq-atty/default.asp
back to top
Oklahoma
12 hours per year including 1 hour ethics. Reporting date: February 15.Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $35 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Live and video (video qualifies only if five or more attorneys are present) seminars are approved. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Beverly S. Petry, MCLE Administrator, Oklahoma Bar Association, PO Box 53036, Oklahoma City, OK 73152 Phone: 405/416-7009 Fax: 405/416-7001 Website: http://www.okbar.org/
back to top
Oregon
45 hours per 3-year period including 6 hours ethics or professionalism, and one ethics hour must address a lawyer's statutory child abuse reporting obligation. Three hours must be taken on gender, racial, ethnic bias, and access to justice each reporting period. Mandatory 10 hours of practical skills for new admittees. Reporting date: every 3rd reporting period ends December 31 of 3rd year depending on year of admission, except initial one-year period for new admittees and reinstated members.Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees ($40 for programs four hours or less; $75 for programs longer than four hours; there is an extra $40 fee for applications received more than 30 days after the course date). Live and video seminars qualify for credit; phone seminars may so long as they are held in a group setting. New attorneys must complete 10 hours of practical skills CLE within their first reporting period. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Sylvia E. Stevens, MCLE Administrator, Oregon State Bar, 5200 SW Meadows Rd, PO Box 1689, Lake Oswego, OR 97035-0889 Phone: 503/620-0222 Fax: 503/684-1366 E-mail: sstevens@osbar.org Website: http://www.osbar.org
back to top
Pennsylvania
12 hours per year including 1 hour ethics. Reporting date: Reporting periods vary by attorney last name at the time of joining the Bar. Pennsylvania requires Virginia CLE to process credit applications for attorneys who take our programs. In addition to the $25 administrative fee, there is a $1.50 per credit hour charge for accrediting courses. Pennsylvania will accept only live seminars. MCLE Administrator: Mr. Dan Levering, Administrator, PA CLE Board, 5035 Ritter Rd, Suite 500, PO Box 869, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055 Phone: 800/497-2253 or 717/795-2139 Fax: 717/795-2120 Website: https://www.pacle.org/
back to top
Rhode Island
10 hours per year including 2 hours ethics. Reporting date: June 30.Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees; however, attorneys may try to apply for credit on their own. Only live seminars can be accredited in Rhode Island. Call 800-979-8253 or e-mail us at vacle@vacle.org if you require a letter that certifies your attendance at a seminar. MCLE Administrator: Holly Hitchcock, M.Ed., Executive Director, MCLE Commission, 250 Benefit Street, Providence, RI 02903 Phone: 401/222-4942 Fax: 401/222-4302 Website: http://courts.state.ri.us/
back to top
South Carolina
14 hours per year including 2 hours ethics. Reporting date: January 1. Virginia is an approved jurisdiction in South Carolina; all Virginia CLE live, video, and telephone seminars are accredited. MCLE Administrator: Mr. Harold L. Miller, Executive Director, Commission on CLE and Specialization, PO Box 2138, Columbia, SC 29202 Phone: 803/799-5578 Fax: 803/799-4118 Website: http://www.commcle.org
back to top
Tennessee
15 hours per year including 3 hours ethics/professionalism. Reporting date: March 1. Only live programs are approved. Live phone seminars may be accredited. No more than 6 hours can be earned with distance learning credit (telephone and online seminars) in any reporting period. MCLE Administrator: Mr. David N. Shearon, Executive Director, Tennessee Commission on CLE and Specialization, 221 4th Ave N 300, Nashville, TN 37219 Phone: 615/741-3096 Fax: 615/532-2477 Website: http://www.cletn.com/
back to top
Texas
15 hours per year including 3 hours ethics/professional responsibility. Reporting date: last day of birth month each year. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees ($5 per Texas attorney or $10 per credit hour, whichever is less, with a minimum charge of $25 per course; applications submitted less than 15 days prior to a program (or after that program is held) have an additional $50 filing fee); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own for live seminars. Attorneys cannot apply for credit on telephone seminars. Phone seminars qualify as interactive participatory credit. Virginia CLE videos will not qualify for credit. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Nancy R. Smith, Director of MCLE, State Bar of Texas, PO Box 13007, Austin, TX 78711-3007 Phone: 512/463-1463 Fax: 512/463-1498 Website: http://www.texasbar.com/
back to top
Utah
24 hours per 2-year period plus 3 hours ethics. Reporting date: every 2 years by December 31. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees ($25 per application); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Live seminars qualify as regular credit; videos and audios will be accepted as self-study credit if previously accredited by the Utah CLE Board. No more than 12 hours can be earned from self-study courses. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Sydnie W. Kuhre, MCLE Board Director, Utah Law and Justice Center, 645 S 200 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-3834 Phone: 801/531-9095 Fax: 801/531-0660 Website: http://www.utahbar.org/
back to top
Vermont
20 hours per 2-year period including 2 hours of ethics. Reporting date: every 2 years by July 2.Live seminars qualify for credit; phone and video seminars may also qualify for credit. Self-study credit is limited to up to 10 hours per reporting period. Applications must be received no more than 30 days after the course. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Martha I. Hicks-Robinson, Director, MCLE Board, 109 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05609-0702 Phone: 802/828-3281 Fax: 802/828-3457 Website: http://www.vermontjudiciary.org/
back to top
Washington
45 hours over 3 years including 6 ethics hours. Reporting date: January 31 every 3rd year. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $50 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Washington will accept live, video, and phone seminars, though no more than one third of the CLE requirement can be earned with phone or video seminars (self-study courses). MCLE Administrator: Ms. Kathleen Todd, Regulatory Services Manager/Executive Secretary, MCLE Board, Washington State Bar Association, 2101 Fourth Ave, Suite 400, Seattle, WA 98121-2330 Phone: 206/733-5912 Fax: 206/727-8320 Website: http://www.wsba.org/
back to top
West Virginia
24 hours per 2-year period including 3 hours ethics, office management, or substance abuse. Reporting date: (Every 2 years) Deadline is June 30, report due by July 31. Live, video, and audio seminars are accepted, but audio and video seminars can only fill up to half of the CLE requirement. All Virginia CLE courses, since they are approved in Virginia, are cooperatively accredited in West Virginia. There is a mandatory Bridge-the-Gap seminar for new lawyers. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Hope L Gresham, MCLE Coordinator, West Virginia MCLE Commission, 2006 Kanawha Blvd E, Charleston, WV 25311-2204 Phone: 304/558-7992 Fax: 304/558-2467 Website: http://www.wvbar.org/mcle/default.aspx
back to top
Wisconsin
30 hours per 2-year period including 3 hours ethics. Reporting date: (Every second year) Deadline is December 31, report due by February 1. Virginia CLE is a general program approval provider in Wisconsin. Wisconsin only gives credit for seminars where instructors are available for questions and answers, so live and phone seminars should qualify for credit, but most video seminars will not. The ethics portion of a course must be continuous and at least an hour long to be accredited as ethics in Wisconsin. MCLE Administrator: Gene R. Rankin, Esq., Director, or Ms. Ruth Janto-Wolter, Deputy Director, Board of Bar Examiners, Tenney Bldg, Suite 715, 110 E Main Street, Madison, WI 53703-3328 Phone: 608/266-9760 Fax: 608/266-1196 Website: http://www.wicourts.gov/
back to top
Wyoming 15 hours per year including one hour of ethics and professional responsibility. Newly admitted attorneys must complete a mandatory four hour ethics program. Reporting date: by January 31. Credit applications will not be processed by Virginia CLE due to increased provider fees (an extra $50 is required); however, attorneys can apply for credit on their own. Only live programs are accredited. Audio and video programs may be accredited, but applications must be submitted prior to the seminar. No more than 5 hours of CLE may be earned from accredited audio and video programs. MCLE Administrator: Ms. Kim Mayo, CLE Program Director, Wyoming State Board of CLE, Wyoming State Bar, PO Box 109, Cheyenne, WY 82003-0109 Phone: 307/632-9061 Fax: 307/632-3737 Website: http://www.courts.state.wy.us/CourtRules_Entities.aspx?RulesPage=CLE06012007.xml back to top
ABOUT
Who We Are
CLE Committee
Mission Statement
Location
Privacy Policy
CONTACT US
P.O. Box 4468
Charlottesville, VA 22905

Phone: (800) 979-8253
Fax: (434) 979-3147
Email: vacle@vacle.org
Shipping Address
105 Whitewood Road
Charlottesville, VA 22901
LAWYERS HELPING LAWYERS
Please click for more information.
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST:



© 2014 Virginia Law Foundation